Good as Gone by Amy Gentry

“This is why people need God—because people are awful, even the good ones”

  – Amy Gentry, Good as Gone


Synopsis:

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—but Anna, Julie’s mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.
 
Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.


Review:

Recently I was invited to join a new book club with my coworkers. I’ve said previously that I would like to start reading more adult fiction this year. So, I figured this would be a great opportunity. Our first book for the club was one I had never heard of before, Good as Gone by Amy Gentry. I went into this book blind. I didn’t look at reviews or even read the synopsis. So, the beginning really hit me.

This is a book that deals with a very tough subject. The topic of child abduction and child trafficking is one that is rarely talked about. Yet, it happens everyday and people need to be aware of the severity.

I flew through this book. It starts out with a scene where a daughter is abducted. All of this is told through her 10 year old sister’s eyes that witnessed the whole thing. It is eerie and unsettling which makes it great.

Honestly, this book had so much to offer. There was a diversity of relationships within the novel. I loved that this family was not your perfect family. They were not a stereotype. They were people who had an awful happen to them and had to pick up the pieces.

The chapters that are told from Anna’s perspective feel completely honest. She is uncertain of how to feel. She is confused and she is weary. She already came to terms with the idea that her daughter is dead. So, when Julie shows up she is left reeling.

We also get a glimpse into Julie’s background. The aftermath of the abduction as well as the moments leading up to it. Julie is strong but still hurt. She protects herself yet blames herself as a victim. It is heart wrenching to read.

Overall, this book was everything that a suspense novel should be. I did not want to put it down. If you have a chance to read this book pick it up ASAP! 4/5 stars

 

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s