Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Meant to Read in 2017

As you may know, I struggled a bit with reading nearing the end of 2017. That ultimately meant I did not complete all of the books I had hoped to during the past year. So, I thought it would be perfect to count them down in a Top Ten Tuesday.

  1. The Black Prism by Brent Weeks
    • This is book that I have heard amazing things about. Lovers of fantasy rave over this book. So, I picked it up forever ago. However, just about everything got in the way of me reading it. It is a huge book so I definitely have to give my time to complete it. I’m hoping since I’m putting less pressure on myself in terms of the number of books I want to complete it will allow me to complete this one.
  2. Perfect by Cecelia Ahern
    • Flawed, the first book in this series, was a book I really enjoyed. Therefore, as soon as I finished it I put this one on my TBR. Well, it’s been a while now and I haven’t completed it. So, I’m going to make it a priority.
  3. Turtles All the Way Down by John Green
    • A new John Green books is something many people have been anticipating, including myself, for years. I pre-ordered this book as soon as I heard about it. Then it came, and I got distracted. So, now it’s on my list of missed books last year.
  4. Warcross by Marie Lu
    • Marie Lu is a tremendous writer. I loved the Legend series and I really enjoyed The Young Elites. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Warcross. Caitlynn read it and fell in love. So, I know I need to read it. I just haven’t had the chance.
  5.  Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill
    • The buzz surrounding this books release was crazy. It seemed as though everybody was reading this book. I continued to put it on TBR after TBR. Yet, I never actually read it. Maybe 2018 will be the year I finally get to.
  6. The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo
    • You should all know by now that Leigh Bardugo is my favorite author. Seriously, I cannot get enough of her writing. So, this was an auto-buy for me. However, I haven’t read this book yet. I’m not sure how that happened. But, my reading slump really got in the way.
  7. Firefight by Brandon Sanderson
    • I should probably mention that I actually did start this book last year. Yep, that’s right. I began to read it then just completely forgot about it. It should have been a no-brainer to read. Yet, my laziness knows no bounds.
  8. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
    • Just like The Black Prism this is a book that fell to the wayside just because of the size of the book. Everybody has heard about The Name of the Wind. I have heard amazing things about the book. But, my intimidation has killed my drive to read it.
  9. Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor
    • After completing Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor I knew I needed to dive back into The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. However, it’s been a while since I read the first book. So, I’m thinking I may need a reread before I can actually read this one.
  10. Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo
    • This is like my ideal book. As a little girl I was an avid reader of the Wonder Woman comics. She was my favorite superhero. Add to that the fact that Leigh Bardugo penned this book it was a dream marriage. Then, life got in the way. So, this is at the top of my list for 2018.


Have you read any of these? What do you recommend I pick up first?


11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Meant to Read in 2017

  1. I loved Wonder Woman and I hope you enjoy it too! I got Turtles All the Way Down on my 2018 TBR, it’s my first John Green book so I’m hoping to get to it soon.


  2. The Name of the Wind is now my favourite book of all time, although the size scared me at the beginning, as I read I just wanted a thousand pages more! (Which I got in the sequel…) Turtles All the Way Down is also on top of my TBR list.


  3. The Language of Thorns was so good. So good. I actually borrowed it from the library and then after reading only the first few pages, realized I had to buy it. No regrets!


  4. Wonder Woman Warbringer and Warcross both made my top 20 reads for 2017 – both are excellent. Turtles All The Way Down was the first book I completed for 2018 and was surprised by how much I ended up loving it. I’ve really been wanting to read Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone series because a lot of people have told me it’s a read-alike for The Mortal Instruments which I adore.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s