T5W – Ideal Mash-Ups

I’m so tired right now, it’s crazy.

We’ve started testing at school and while it seems like an easy enough day because I’m not repeating directions over and over and over again and explaining things in 20 different ways so students can understand what’s being asked for them, it’s actually much more exhausting.

There’s something about pacing your classroom and watching students silently read and answers questions on computers that really wears you down.

So, with that said, I thought I would liven up my spirits with this really cool top five Wednesday topic.

This week I get to mash up books that I’d like to see. Here’s the exact explanation from the Goodreads group Top 5 Wednesday, “You know those comp titles they list in synopses that read something like “perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Game of Thrones”! What would be some of your favorite mash ups, that would make you pick up a book? “A mix of ________ and ___________.” Remember, you can also incorporate games, tv, movies, etc. Get creative!”

So, it’s time to get creative!


1. Strange the Dreamer and The Wrath and the Dawn

Both of these books are amazing, but can you imagine if Shazi’s story was told in the world that Lazlo lives in? It would be phenomenal.

2. And I Darken and Heartless

These books are both dark, but could you imagine if Lada and Cath were partners in crime? It would be the best antagonists novel yet.

3. Red Rising and Ender’s Game

One is a classic Sci-Fi, the other is just awesome. I think it would be interesting to see how the two stories interacted with each other.

4. Crooked Kingdom and A Gathering of Shadows

It’d be the best of two amazing books. Imagine, Kaz and Kell being BFF’s and Inej showing Lila how to climb a silo in record time with a single wobble. It would be the band of thieves we’ve been waiting for.

5. Ready Player One and Warcross 

I would love to see the old and new clash in these books. Ready Player One has amazing pop culture references, but Warcross would bring in the element of a future where the computer interacts with the world. One of these books has a crazier ending than the other, needless to say, we’d be keeping that aspect.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “T5W – Ideal Mash-Ups

  1. Oh Ready Player One and Warcross would actually be fascinating. I’d love Ready Player One if it was like…90s references or early 2000s mixed with the live League of Legends feel of Warcross.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s