How to Delete or Deactivate a LinkedIn Account

How to Delete or Deactivate a LinkedIn Account

Here are the procedures for permanently deleting your LinkedIn account or temporarily disabling it.

How to delete your LinkedIn account

Closing your LinkedIn account results in the permanent deletion of your profile and your access to all your information on the social network.

To delete your LinkedIn account:

  • Click on your profile picture, at the top right of the LinkedIn homepage,
  • From the drop-down menu, select Preferences and privacy,
  • In the Account Preferences section (right sidebar), scroll down to Account management,
  • Select Close the account,
  • Choose a reason for deleting your account, then click Next,
  • Enter your password, then click Close the account.

Note that the procedure is the same on iOS and Android.

LinkedIn specifies that your profile will no longer be visible on the platform but that search engines such as Google, Bing or Yahoo! may still display your information temporarily after deletion. You must also make sure to close your Premium offer if you have one, before definitively closing your account.

How to download all data from your LinkedIn account

Before permanently deleting a LinkedIn account, the social network allows you to upload a copy of all of your data to the platform.

Here’s the procedure to follow :

  • Click on your profile picture, at the top right of the LinkedIn homepage,
  • Select Preferences and privacy,
  • In the right sidebar, click Data Privacy,
  • In the insert How LinkedIn uses your data select Obtain a copy of your data,
  • You have the choice between downloading the complete data archive or selecting the files you want to download (articles, messages, recommendations, etc.), then click on Request the archives.

Note: this approach is not available on the mobile application, for the moment.

How to Reactivate a Deleted LinkedIn Account

You can only reactivate a LinkedIn account that you have closed if you requested your account be closed less than 14 days ago. This is LinkedIn’s regulatory time limit for closed accounts.

To reactivate your LinkedIn account:

  • On the login page, fill in the email address linked to your LinkedIn account and your associated password, then click on Login,
  • Select Reactivate to start the process,
  • An email will be sent to you to confirm your process.

LinkedIn specifies that even if you reactivate your account, the following data will be lost:

  • Group Membership,
  • followed pages,
  • Pending invites,
  • Skill recommendations.

How to temporarily deactivate your LinkedIn account

Like most social networks, LinkedIn also offers to temporarily deactivate your account.

Here’s how to temporarily deactivate your account on LinkedIn:

  • Click on your profile picture, at the top right of the LinkedIn homepage,
  • From the drop-down menu, select Preferences and privacy,
  • In Account Management, click Temporarily disable the account,
  • Choose a reason for your approach,
  • Enter your password and select Temporarily disable the account to complete the process.

You can reactivate your account 24 hours after requesting the temporary deactivation of your account.

When an account is deactivated on LinkedIn:

  • Your profile no longer appears on the platform, nor in searches,
  • Recommendations that you have entered for other users appear with the mention “A member of LinkedIn”,
  • Similarly, messages, posts, and comments are retained and appear as “A LinkedIn member.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.